Home | News | Contact Us | Subscribe | Advertise | Classifieds
Subscription Home The Times of Noblesville, IN | Noblesville, in

Subscription Login


• Local Sports
Opinion Page
Photo Galleries
Traffic Cams
The Times Video
Police Blotter
Marriage licenses
Newspapers In Education
2017 Readers' Choice

J. David McChesney
Expertise: Web Site Marketing

home : sports : local sports August 21, 2017

Merchent leads State Golf Tourney field
Millers, Shamrocks, Greyhounds and Tigers vie for title
Photo providedPrairie View Golf Course.
Photo provided

Prairie View Golf Course.
Times file photoNoblesville's Parker Deakyne.
Times file photo

Noblesville's Parker Deakyne.
Want TO GO?
• Admission is $12 per person and the ticket is good for both days of the tournament.

• No Personal Coolers: Personal coolers are not allowed on the course.

• Parking: Spectators will use the off-site parking lot southwest of the roundabout at the intersection of Main Street and River Road and be shuttled to and from the golf course.

• Riding Carts: A limited number of riding carts will be available at cost on a "first-come, first-served" basis. Golf carts are limited to the cart path only. Please check the clubhouse counter for details. Courtesy carts also will be circling the course transporting spectators.

The Times

CARMEL - Clay Merchant's 66 in the Indiana High School Athletic Association Regional is the low round so far in the State Tournament.

The Noblesville linkster carded the 66 to take medalist honors at the Muncie Central Regional last week.

In addition, Westfield is making its fourth consecutive appearance in the state championship, the second longest streak in Indiana.

The IHSAA State Golf Championship Tournament is scheduled for 8 a.m. Tuesday and Wednesday at Prairie View Golf Club, Carmel.

Noblesville, Westfield, Carmel and Fishers are all competing for the team trophy.

In fact Hamilton County has four of the 15 teams vying for the State crown. Fishers is making its first appearance in the team competition.

Tee Times:

Westfield and Fishers hit the links first.

Back nine:

8:18 a.m. Stephen Hilderbrand, Westfield, and Noah Chamberlin, Fishers (back nine).

8:27 a.m. Ethan Lutz, Westfield and Jackson Ousley, Fishers.

8:36 a.m. Josh Kehl, Westfield, and Bryce Robertson, Fishers.

8:45 a.m. Noah Shanteau, Westfield, and Nick Fisher, Fishers.

8:54 a.m. Andrew Lewis, Westfield, and Xavier Walden, Fishers.

The Westfield and Fishers golfers are paired with golfers from Carroll of Fort Wayne.

Front nine:

9:12 a.m. Curtin Robertson, Carmel.

9:21 a.m. Clay Stirsman, Carmel.

9:30 a.m. Cole Harris, Carmel.

9:39 a.m. Nick Dentino, Carmel.

9:48 a.m. Kevin Stone, Carmel.

Carmel's golfers are pair with golfers from Park Tudor and Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger.

Front nine:

9:57 a.m. John Barnes, Noblesville.

10:06 a.m. Jacob Deakyne, Noblesville.

10:15 a.m. Mitchell Compton, Noblesville.

10:25 a.m. Parker Deakyne, Noblesville.

10:33 a.m. (Last group) Clay Merchant, Noblesville.

The Millers are paired with golfers from Evansville North and Center Grove.

Defending champs:

Westfield is the two-time defending State Champion. The Shamrocks have won three of the last four State titles and was runner up in 2014.

In 2015, the Shamrocks bested Center Grove 584-588, and In 2016, Westfield shot a team score of 581, four shots better than Hamilton County rival Hamilton Southeastern.

The Shamrocks set the 36-hole state team record in 2013, shooting a 575 to better Columbus North by two strokes.

Noblesville won the state title in 1998, besting Pike 599-626, and again in 1999, beating Marion 599-626.

The Millers have been runner up three times, 1984, 1991, and 2005.

Carmel has been State Champ five times.

1970, the first year for a 36-hole tournament, the Greyhounds shot 611 to edge Indianapolis North Central by one stroke.

Carmel repeated in 1971, shooting a 613. Gary Wallace was runner up with a 617.

In 1982 the Greyhounds shot a 621 to claim the state crown. Columbus North was second with 636.

Carmel went back to back in 1989 and 1990.

In 1989 the Greyhounds finished with 638, a stroke ahead of Terre Haute South.

In 1990, Carmel shot 634, two strokes ahead of Seymour.

Carmel's five State Championships are second most in Indiana. Anderson has won six.


Hamilton County has had only one individual champion, Hamilton Southeastern's Cedrick McAree last year.

McAree shot a 36-hole 137, finishing two strokes ahead of Center Grove's Noah Gillard.

Low rounds:

Noblesville has tied for the record 18-hole team score. The Millers carded a 283 in the second round of the 2013 tournament.

Westfield has the third lowest 18-hole score, a 284, also shot in the second round of the 2013 tournament.

Other low 18-hole rounds belong to the Shamrocks, 291, in 2013, Hamilton Southeastern, 2016, and Carmel, 293 in 2007.

Along with Westfield's 575, 36-hole record in 2013, the Shamrocks also shot 581 in 2016 and 584 in 2015, also among the state's all-time low scores.

Hamilton Southeastern shot 585 in 2016, Noblesville carded a 592 in 2013.


This is the third year for Prairie View to play host to the IHSAA State Golf Tournament.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to send us your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

Home | News | Contact Us | Subscribe | Advertise | Classifieds

© 2017
The Times
a division of Sagamore News Media
920 S. Logan St, Suite 101 Noblesville, IN 46060
(317) 770-7777

Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved