Photo Provided
Abigail Davis enjoys the happy moment with her grandma, Brenda Davis, after finding out that she had been named as a recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship.
Photo Provided Abigail Davis enjoys the happy moment with her grandma, Brenda Davis, after finding out that she had been named as a recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship.
Two local students have been named recipients of four-year, full tuition scholarships as the 2019 Boone County Lilly Endowment Community Scholars. Abigail Davis of Sheridan High School and Dominic Seppel of Lebanon High School will receive full tuition to an accredited public or private nonprofit college or university in Indiana and a $900 stipend for required books and equipment.
Abigail Davis, daughter of Richard and Nicole Davis of Whitestown, has served her community through Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership Indiana as a school representative, junior staff member, and World Leadership Congress scholarship recipient. She is student body president, heavily engaged in the Free Lunch Club with Sheridan First United Methodist Church, and a Revolution of Hope volunteer. Additionally, Abigail is employed at the Sheridan Public Library, sings in the choir, and has a lifetime goal of completing 4,000 service hours in her community. She is planning to study environmental science and journalism at Butler University.
Abigail’s mother, who was also surprised with the news this morning was ecstatic and so proud of her daughter. She expressed her gratitude to all in attendance.
“Thanks to all of you. You are why Abby is here. This is a culmination of so many years of hard work,” Abigail’s mother said. “And, we don’t have to live off of Ramen Noodles next year with two kids in college!”
Son of Paul and Karynn Seppel of Lebanon, Dominic Seppel is a 10-year 4-H club member serving in multiple leadership roles at the club, county, and state level of 4-H. Dominic is also an alumnus of the Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership (HOBY) conference, Boone County Kiwanis Global Youth Leadership Academy, and Indiana State Rotary Youth Leadership Conference. At Lebanon High School he is involved with National Honor Society, DECA Business Club, United Way of Boone County Youth Engagement Team, and Ambassadors Club. He has also served as an AmeriCorps volunteer. Dominic plans to study the Accelerated Dual Accounting program to obtain his bachelor’s and master’s degree in four years as a Certified Public Accountant.
Dominic and his family were also surprised with the news of the award when Lebanon High School Principal, Kevin O’Rourke, asked them to come in for a video shoot. Dominic was speechless for a few moments, which is unlike his usual personality. Once the news of the full-tuition scholarship award sunk in, Dominic said, “I wouldn’t be where I am without the people who support me like my advisors and teachers, and my parents most specifically. This is amazing! Thank you.”
“Once again there was an outstanding group of applicants from Boone County. To choose just two out of a pool of 63 deserving students is not an easy task. The poise, talent, volunteerism, and work ethic of these students gives us so much confidence in the future leaders in our community. A special thank you to our committee of volunteers for their time and dedication, and congratulations to Abigail and Dominic!” said Community Foundation President & CEO Kristi Reynolds.
This year, 63 students applied for the Boone County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Nine finalists took part in an interview process and 2 nominees and 2 alternates were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. which selects the final recipients. The scholarship recipients are nominated by a committee of county-wide volunteers who evaluate each student’s community involvement, volunteerism, academic performance, work experience, extracurricular activities and awards and honors. Since the inception of the Lilly Scholars Program in 1998, CFBC has awarded the scholarship to 14 Lebanon High School seniors, 15 Western Boone seniors, 13 Zionsville Community High School seniors, two Sheridan High School seniors, and one Covenant Christian senior.
ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree-granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.
The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana, to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities, and to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state. The Endowment hopes that this program will continue to encourage many of Indiana’s most talented student to attend one of Indiana’s higher education institutions and after graduation consider pursuing occupations in Indiana.