Candidates know exactly whom they are up against after Hamilton County Primary Election filings ended yesterday at noon. Out of a total of 325 filings, 18 candidates are running for county seats.

Tammy Baitz (R) and Rhonda Gary (R) are running against each other for the office of County Clerk. Peggy Beaver currently holds the office, but is not running for reelection.

Mary Clark is the current County Recorder, but she is not running for reelection. Ray Ade (R) will run for the seat against Jennifer Hayden (R). Robert A. Bragg planned to challenge both Ade and Hayden, but withdrew his candidacy.

Mark J. Bowen (R) will not be opposed in the primary for Hamilton County Sheriff.

John R. Chalfin (R) and Roger C. Conn (R) will face off to take over as County Coroner, a position that Cecil Thurl, Jr. currently holds.

The office of County Assessor will continue to be held by Robin L. Ward (R).

Christine Altman (R) will keep her seat as County Commissioner for District One.

Andrew J. Dollard (R) and Fred Glynn (R) will go head-to-head to lead the County Council for District One, a seat that Meredith Carter (R) currently holds.

Amy E. Massillamany (R), Steve Schwartz (R), and Paul W. Ayers (R) will all keep their current seats as county councilwoman and councilmen for Districts Two, Three, and Four.

Hamilton County Judges William J. Hughes (R), J. Richard Campbell (R), and Wayne A. Sturtevant (R) are all seeking reelection for their current seats for Superior Courts Three, Four and Five. Campbell and Sturtevant are running unopposed, but Hughes will be facing Brian G. Poindexter (R) for Superior Court Three.