Home | Contact Us | Facebook | Subscribe | Advertise
The Noblesville Times 24-7
  • 11/9/2018 The tragedy in Rochester is unimaginable – three siblings dead and another seriously injured.  These aren’t the only victims – their families, the bus driver and student witnesses, their schoolmates and teachers.  The ripple effects touch everyone.  
    While all fingers point to the truck’s driver, a major culprit goes unrecognized – Indiana’s morning darkness.  Sunrise on Oct. 30 was 8:15.  The children were struck at 7:15.  If Indiana was in its correct Central Time Zone it would have been light outside and the children would have been visible. 
    The solar divide between the Eastern and Central time zones runs 25 miles east of Columbus, Ohio.  In mid-1960’s Indiana’s time zone was re-designated from Central to Eastern but it was the adoption of Eastern Daylight Time in 2006 that caused the major shift in our sunlight schedule forcing children all over Indiana to travel to school in the dark. Students have been robbed, injured and killed by vehicles, and raped in morning darkness.
  • 11/5/2018 Dear Editor,
    We have had three children in Noblesville schools since 2011. During this time, we have been consistently impressed with the quality of people involved with their education. From administrators to teachers, we have experienced a talented group of educators who continue to impress us every day. Individuals like Beth Niedermeyer, Jeff Bryant, Stacey Swan, Pat Haney, Kristie Cassidy, Peggy Wood, Jason Seaman, Katelyn Koons, Alex Axsom and Stacey White are as dedicated, compassionate, and intelligent as they come. We should never take any of them for granted. There are dozens and dozens more, and they all deserve to teach and work in a safe environment, as our students deserve to learn in a safe environment.
  • 11/5/2018 Dear Editor,
    On November 6, 2018, the owners of Noble Industries plan to VOTE YES to the Noblesville Schools 2018 Operating Referendum Question.  
    Noble Industries has been in business since 1970 and typically we are ALWAYS for lower taxes. Lower business taxes help us create new jobs and continue to invest in new equipment and operational efficiencies. However without successful schools, the workforce suffers. 
    Paying teachers a competitive wage that matches or surpasses other school districts in the state and providing for the safety and security of our children are two areas in which we believe must be supported. We will trust that Superintendent, Dr. Beth Niedermeyer, the staff and School Board will act prudently and be frugal with the additional tax resources they are given.
  • 11/5/2018 Dear Editor,
    With November 6th just around the corner, I wanted to take a moment to say why I’m voting in support of Miller Yes.  
    Our Noblesville students/children deserve the brightest and most creative professionals our educational institutions have to offer. With neighboring districts in Hamilton County paying teachers $5,000-$15,000 more per year, I’m not surprised to see a teacher shortage in the past two years in our district.
    Our teachers work tirelessly each day; concerned with appropriate grade curriculum, teaching lessons, making sure students aren’t falling behind in their coursework, classmate/friend disputes, etc.
  • 11/3/2018 Dear Editor,
    The Noblesville Teachers’ Forum, the professional association for all teachers in Noblesville Schools, has released its recommended candidates for the 2018 Noblesville School Board Election: Dr. Joe Fogey, Jeff Bragg, and David Leyda.
    Voters will choose candidates to fill two open At Large seats. These decisions were made after a committee of Noblesville teachers completed a thorough vetting process, which included a review of completed questionnaires, personal interviews with candidates, and attendance at the public candidate forum. The Noblesville Teachers’ Forum is confident that these candidates will best serve the students, staff, and entire Noblesville Schools community. Please consider supporting these candidates on November 6th.
    -Amanda Giordano, President, Noblesville Teachers’ Forum
  • 10/31/2018 Dear Noblesville residents,
    My family and I moved to Noblesville about 8 years ago. Our top criteria for selecting an area and house was good schools. We selected Noblesville because of the schools, but the sense of community was an added benefit.
    In the past 8 years, Noblesville has proven itself to be a wonderful and close-knit community. After the shooting at NWMS, Noblesville once again came together to take care of one other. I was so proud of how everyone from the teachers, staff, students, parents, and community handled themselves with such class and dignity. I am proud to call Noblesville our home and proud that all 3 of our children have been educated by Noblesville schools.
  • 10/31/2018 Dear Editor,
    No matter who earns the most votes on November 6, bipartisanship must be embraced. Compromise must not be viewed as a sign of weakness. Confrontation must give way to cooperation.
    Honest differences of opinion always will, and should, exist. Yet dismissing someone’s viewpoint mainly by the R or D next to their name is shortsighted.
    There are no simple answers. But listening – truly paying attention – to those with views that may not align with yours is imperative. That tactic is one that many in our country would benefit from. It is unfortunately not happening nearly enough.
  • 10/26/2018 Dear Editor,
    Last month I attended the state of the schools presentation at the Noblesville Chamber luncheon and since then the referendum proposal for Noblesville Schools has been on my mind. Many know that I started my career in public office by serving on the school board. I know better than most the challenges our schools face to serve all children well and to do so under demanding legislative and financial restrictions.
    Noblesville Schools does more than just meet basic educational objectives, they are a role-model district with academic staff, STEM programming, workforce development initiatives and special education innovations that have been recognized across the state. They are robustly preparing our children for the world of tomorrow and making our community stronger in the process.
  • 10/22/2018 To the Editor:
    I was pleased to see someone is paying attention (Legislative Paralysis in Washington DC, Oct. 18).
    Everyone should vote, and we should all be paying attention to what happens after the election, too. Why? Because since the last election, we’ve seen a series of proposals that would gut effective anti-poverty programs.
    Here’s a not so trendy caption for social media, but “the struggle is real!” Often misunderstood, poverty isn’t the eye of the ghetto, but the face of someone even closer to you than you’ll probably realize. Remember, when someone declines your invitation to the baby shower, or some other special event, it doesn’t mean they didn’t want to support you.
  • 10/22/2018 To My Noblesville Neighbors,
    I would like to share my thoughts on why the upcoming referendum is so important to me. Before this year I was a stay at home Mom, for the last 5 years to be exact. I sent my children to school, volunteered for teacher snacks, parties and field trips, but after the shooting last year I decided I needed to do more. My youngest started Kindergarten and I was given an opportunity to work as an IA (instructional assistant) in his elementary school. To say this has been an eye opening experience is a total understatement. I watch in awe, every day, as these amazing teachers and all other support staff not only teach the standard curriculum, but also work with kids on social behavior, emotional behavior, how to be a teammate and, most of all, love these children.
Looking for something older? Try our archive search

Sunday, November 18, 2018

Site Search

GO


Our app is now available!

     
    



© 2018 The Times
a division of Sagamore News Media
920 S. Logan St, Suite 101 Noblesville, IN 46060

(317) 770-7777

life

Software © 1998-2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved