INDIANAPOLIS - Westfield sophomore Erin Verbrugge is headed to the Saturday swim finals for the second year in a row. Verbrugge qualified for the IHSAA State Girls Swim Finals in the 100 backstroke. The top 16 places advance from the Friday preliminaries to the Saturday Finals.

Verbrugge just made the cut with a 16th place in the 100 back. She glided through the IU Natatorium pool in 57.69 seconds just a second slower than her seed time.

She also was a part of three relays, along with sophomores Kerry Effinger, Mia Herzong, Katherine Hand and junior Molly Ruggles. The 400 free relay finished in 21st, two places behind their seed and the 200 free relay finished in 24th, five spots behind their seed. The 200 medley team was disqualified.

Noblesville's Alexa Akers competed in the 100 butterfly for the second time in her high school career. She finished 24th with a time of :57.69. This was one place ahead of her 2015 finish.

Carmel had 24 swims advance to the finals with 15 competing in the championships today. The top eight preliminary swims compete for the finals and the eight through 16 finishes compete in the consolations. Carmel had five first-place finishes. Emma Nordin (200 free) finished first with a 1:47.88 in the 200 free and a 4:46.98 in the 500 free. Kelly Pash also won her event with a :49.17 in the 100 free. The 200 free and 400 free relay teams were first place.

Fishers had 13 swims advance to the finals, four in the championship races. The top placements for the Tigers were Lauryn Parrish at third place in the 200 free and Samantha Hietpas in the 500 free. HSE had seven swims advance, three in the championships. Their highest placement was the 200 medley relay team consisting of Abigail Harter, Madison Kertin, Hannah Pugh, and Sydney Knurek.