Megan Wiles elected Noblesville Common Council President

Megan Wiles was elected the new president of the Noblesville Common Council following a vote during a reorganization meeting held Tuesday evening. Aaron Smith was elected as vice president.

“I am excited for Megan and look forward to working collaboratively with her, and the entire common council in 2022,” said Noblesville Mayor Chris Jensen. “Our strong working relationship will prove helpful as we prepare for a year of construction, improved connectivity and prosperity in our city.”

Wiles is in her second term and served as the council’s vice president last year and was previously president in 2017. A graduate of Noblesville High School, Wiles earned a Bachelor of Science from Ball State University. She works as executive director of the Riverview Health Foundation and previously served as president of Legacy Fund, the Community Foundation for Hamilton County.

“This year we will see a lot of projects begin to come to fruition and I am excited to be in my new role as they happen,” said Wiles. “We have a lot of major developments happening this year throughout the City and we have a lot to be proud of. I can’t wait to continue to work for the people of Noblesville and make this the best community to live, work and play in.”

Wiles is the representative from District 6, which includes a large portion of the east side of Noblesville – Stony Ridge, Sagamore, Chapel Woods, Stony Creek Highlands, Deer Path and the business areas of Stony Creek Marketplace and Hamilton Town Center.

Also discussed at the reorganization meeting were the 2022 Noblesville Common Council committee assignments, which include:

Building/Land Acquisition – Darren Peterson (Chair), Brian Ayer, Mike Davis and Pete Schwartz.

Downtown District – Aaron Smith (Chair), Darren Peterson, Megan Wiles and Brian Ayer.

Economic Development – Greg O’Connor (Chair), Megan Wiles, Aaron Smith and Mark Boice.

Finance – Mike Davis (Chair), Greg O’Connor, Darren Peterson and Aaron Smith.

Parks – Pete Schwartz (Chair), Aaron Smith, Dan Spartz and Megan Wiles.

Public Safety – Mark Boice (Chair), Brian Ayer, Mike Davis and Pete Schwartz.

Roads/Traffic/Engineering – Brian Ayer (Chair), Mark Boice, Greg O’Connor and Dan Spartz.

Wastewater – Dan Spartz (Chair), Greg O’Connor, Mike Davis and Mark Boice.

Nominating – Megan Wiles (Chair), Aaron Smith and Darren Peterson

Special appointments of the council include:

Architectural Review Board – Brian Ayer and Darren Peterson

Cultural Arts District Liaison – Megan Wiles

The Council holds its regular meetings on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month. The Council’s next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, January 11th at 7:00 pm at City Hall.