College Wood Elementary School, Carmel Clay Schools, and James Whitcomb Riley Elementary School, Hamilton Southeastern Schools, are winners of U.S. Department of Education's Blue Ribbon Schools Award.

Created in 1982, the Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools that are either high performing or have improved student achievement to high levels - especially among disadvantaged students.

Each year, USDOE awards schools whose students attain and maintain academic excellence.

The Blue Ribbon program is part of a larger USDOE effort to identify and disseminate knowledge about best school leadership and teaching practices, across the nation. In November, USDOE will hold a reception in the nation's capital to formally recognize the awarded schools.