Indianapolis entrepreneur named Indiana Chamber Board Chair; leaders join Board of Directors

Indianapolis entrepreneur John Thompson was elected the organization’s new chairman through November 2022.

Thompson made his way from the tough housing projects of Baltimore to find great success in Indianapolis as the chairman and CEO of four businesses – including Thompson Distribution and First Electric Supply – and as an investor in a variety of endeavors.

Thompson joined the Indiana Chamber’s board in 2014 and engages on various committees, as well as its Membership Ambassadors initiative. He will serve a one-year term as board chairman through November 2022.

“John embodies all of the qualities of a vibrant and forward-thinking entrepreneur, and he’s been highly engaged on public policy initiatives that impact the state’s prosperity and future,” remarks Indiana Chamber President and CEO Kevin Brinegar. “We are well positioned as an organization and also excited to see where John’s leadership can take us in the next year.”

Thompson also seeks to make his larger community better. He helps attract businesses to the state by serving on the Indiana Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors. Additionally, he’s a member of the Business Equity for Indy initiative, which focuses on growing a more inclusive business climate.

Another passion for Thompson is devoting his time and talents as president of the Crossroads of America Council, Boy Scouts of America and recently chairing the Eskenazi Health Foundation Board, among many other volunteer efforts.

Eleven central Indiana area business leaders are also among the 22 new Indiana Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. They are:

Katie Argus, CFO of BCforward (Indianapolis);

Mike Ash, regional president of Fifth Third Bank (Indianapolis);

Matt Koscal, senior vice president and chief administrative officer of Republic Airways (Indianapolis);

Randy Kron, president of Indiana Farm Bureau, Inc. (Indianapolis);

Staci Kroon, president and CEO of BraunAbility (Carmel);

Kristina Lund, president and CEO of AES Indiana (Indianapolis);

Rebekah Payne, partner, Indianapolis location leader of MCM CPAs & Advisors LLP (Indianapolis);

Josh Plank, partner at WestPoint Financial Group (Indianapolis);

Mike Ryan, president and CEO of USIC LLC (Indianapolis);

Rupal Thanawala, managing director of Trident Systems (Fishers); and

Trent Torrance, COO and executive vice president, international division of United Animal Health, Inc. (Sheridan).

The Indiana Chamber Board is comprised of individuals from a diverse array of industries and regions of the state.

“Our board is integral to helping us shape public policy that promotes economic prosperity in Indiana,” says Indiana Chamber President and CEO Kevin Brinegar. “Members are able to apply their specific knowledge and talents to committees to further hone their impact. We look forward to all of their contributions.”

More than 150 individuals from member companies make up the Indiana Chamber Board. They are presidents, CEOs and high-level executives from organizations throughout the state. All new board members will serve three-year terms through fall 2024.

The Indiana Chamber partners with 25,000 members and investors – representing over four million Hoosiers – to achieve the mission of “cultivating a world-class environment which provides economic opportunity and prosperity.”