Local Poets Among Arts Commission Additions to Indiana Digital Poetry Archive

The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC), in partnership with the Indiana State Library, announced on Thursday that the works of four Hamilton County poets are among the works of 33 poets that have been added to the State of Indiana’s poetry archive, Inverse.

The four Hamilton County poets are:

  • John Caviness
  • Z. Rose
  • James Thompson
  • Marilyn Wolf

An initiative of former Indiana Poet Laureate Adrian Matejka, INverse celebrates and preserves the diverse range of Indiana poetry for future generations of Indiana writers and readers.

“It is an honor to continue our collaboration with the Indiana Arts Commission on the INverse Poetry Archive. This partnership celebrates Hoosier poets and enriches the collections of the State Library,” said Jacob Speer, Indiana State Librarian.

“The INverse Poetry Archive continues to represent, promote, and preserve the poetry of our small yet important part of the world. It is an invaluable project,” said Matthew Graham, Indiana Poet Laureate.

Residents of Indiana are encouraged to submit poems to the archive annually between February 1 and April 30. Learn more about the INverse Poetry Archive by visiting in.gov/arts/programs-and-services/partners/indiana-poet-laureate/inverse-indianas-poetry-archive/.

The full list of poets with work added to the archive includes:

  • Mary Ardery – Tippecanoe County
  • Christine Bradfield – Vigo County
  • Steve Castro – Vanderburgh County
  • Mike Crawford – Clinton County
  • Jerry Cummings – Vanderburgh County
  • Susan Draper – Vermillion County
  • Edward Fry – Madison County
  • Sandra Gay – Marion County
  • Marc Harmonah – La Porte County
  • Suzy Harris – Out of State (Portland, OR)
  • Carla Harris* – Marion County
  • Jennifer Hurley – Porter County
  • Michael Lasater – St. Joseph County
  • Tracey Lemming – Out of State (Chapel Hill, NC)
  • Dorothy Lorant – Boone County
  • Kim McCann – Marion County
  • B. Monét – Madison County
  • Michael Nierste – Boone County
  • Robert Railey – Vanderburgh County
  • John Sherman – Marion County
  • Nancy Simmonds – Allen County
  • Mariah Spragg – Greene County
  • Anthony Sutton – Tippecanoe County
  • Jessica Thompson – Vanderburgh County
  • Mia Toschi – La Porte County
  • Sherry West – Miami County
  • Cathy Wingard – Brown County
  • Lilly Wright – Out of State (Arlington, VA)
  • Januarie York – Marion County

*Work Submitted Posthumously