Now, there are three.

You can add the name of Tucker Barnhart to the list of top high school baseball award winners for the 2009 season. Southport's Cameron Perkins was the first, being named the Gatorade winner even before the season was completed. Westfield's Kyle Kramp was selected by the Indiana High School Baseball Coaches Association as its Player of the Year. Now, Barnhart, a catcher from Brownsburg, has been named the 18th annual Mr. Baseball by Hoosier Diamond.

Barnhart edged Perkins by six votes in a year when there were so many outstanding high school baseball players in the state. He's the sixth player from the Hoosier Crossroads Conference to win the award. Center Grove's A.J. Zapp was the first in 1996. Others were Carmel's Jim Brauer in 2000, Noblesville's Wes Whisler in 2001, McCutcheon's Clayton Richard in 2003 and Brownsburg's Lance Lynn in 2005. From Brownsburg, Barnhart is the first player from a previous Mr. Baseball school to win the award. The Bulldogs' Lynn was Mr. Baseball in 2005.

It doesn't hurt for players to have a "little extra" going as they bid for Mr. Baseball.

The six Mr. Baseballs coming from the Hoosier Crossroads Conference might indicate a little push from the media here in Central Indiana.

The spring major league draft also can be a huge factor. High school coaches who are uncertain as to who they should vote for might select the top player picked in the draft. Barnhart was the state's No. 1 draft pick this year.

A Mr. Baseball Classic has been held the last four years and playing in that double-header certainly can make a difference. Barnhart, because of contract talks with the Cincinnati Reds, couldn't play in the Classic this year, but was available for media interviews. Same thing happened to Norwell's Jared Parker, who in 2007 was in discussions with the Arizona Diamondbacks and couldn't participate in the Classic. Terre Haute North's Josh Phegley was in a tight race for Mr. Baseball points when in 2006 he came into the Classic (which was on state-wide TV) and stole the show. Last year Greensburg's Alex Meyer did compete in the Classic.

Seldom, if ever, has there been a "wrong" choice for Mr. Baseball. Richards, selected in 2003, now is pitching for the Chicago White Sox. Adam Lind, from Anderson Highland, was the choice in 2002 and he's now starting for the Toronto Blue Jays. Jasper's Scott Rolen, Mr. Baseball in 1993, is a big stick for Toronto after playing previously with Philadelphia and St. Louis. Madison's Bryan Bullington, who was the winner in 1999, currently is with Toronto.

Meyer was projected to go as high as the No. 25 pick in the 2008 draft, but made it clear he was going to sign at the University and Kentucky and, therefore, fell to a 20th round selection by the Boston Red Sox. He reportedly passed up a $2 million offer from the Sox. In his freshman season at Kentucky last spring, Meyer was 1-4 with a 5.73 ERA.

Parker, the 2007 Mr. Baseball, signed with the Arizona Diamondbacks; played with the South Bend Silver Hawks last season, and this year is with the AA league Mobile Bay Bears and has a 4-4 record with a 2.98 ERA and 61 strikeouts in 63.1 innings.

Phegley, finishing his junior year at Indiana University, was the 38th picked in this year's major league draft, selected by the White Sox. He was All-Big Ten this past spring, hitting .344 with 17 home runs and 66 RBIs.

Lynn was a first round pick by Arizona in 2005 and this season the former Brownsburg ace has an 8-2 record, a 3.84 ERA and 54 strikeouts in 72.2 innings while throwing by Springfield, Mo. In AA league play.

Whisler currently is pitching in the Chicago White Sox system and recently had a short call-up by the Chicago team.

Richard was drafted in the 8th round following his career at McCutcheon, but instead went to the University of Michigan to play football and baseball and then later returned to baseball.

Brauer, who also played college ball at Michigan, was the 9th round pick by the Florida Marlins. After reaching AA play, Brauer has retired from baseball.

The first Mr. Baseball, in 1992, was Chip Pettit, who now is the football coach at Crown Point High School.

Two Hamilton County players, Kramp and Noblesville's Jake Wood, finished among the top six vote-getters in this year's Mr. Baseball race. The top six were Barnhart, Perkins, Andrean's Adam Norton, Kramp, Anderson's Nolan Early and Wood.

Kramp and Norton had an advantage of pitching in the big show, the Indiana state tourney at Victory Field.

Wood and Kramp earlier were named as the Times' Co-Hamilton County Player of the Year.

Along with naming Mr. Baseball, Hoosier Diamond announced other award winners, including Fishers' catcher Kevin Schlotter as the Defensive Player of the Year. Others were Ryan Spaulding of Oak Hill as Rookie of the Year, Dillon Peters of Cathedral as Pitcher of the Year, Steven Rice of Crawfordsville as Junior of the Year, Norton as Offensive Player of the Year, Roy Dixon of Portage as Assistant Coach of the Year, and Dave Pishkur of Andrean as Coach of the Year. To be eligible for these awards, except for Coach of the Year, candidates had to be nominated by a high school coach. Hoosier Diamond picked the Coach of the Year.

Mr. Baseballs

2009: Tucker Barnhart, Brownsburg

2008: Alex Meyer, Greensburg

2007: Jared Parker, Norwell

2006: Josh Phegley, Terre Haute North

2005: Lance Lynn, Brownsburg

2004: Tim LeMasters, Perry Meridian

2003: Clayton Richard, McCutcheon

2002: Adam Lind, Anderson Highland

2001: Wes Whisler, Noblesville

2000: Jim Brauer, Carmel.

1999: Bryan Bullington, Madison

1998: J.D. Closser, Alexandria

1997: Matt Mauck, Jasper

1996: A.J. Zapp, Center Grove

1995: Brad Weber, DeKalb

1994: Allen Stunkel, Gibson Southern

1993: Scott Rolen, Jasper

1992: Chip Pettit, Crown Point.