Interview Times Set For Court Of Appeals Applicants

Nine judges and lawyers who applied for an opening on the Court of Appeals of Indiana will be interviewed by the Judicial Nominating Commission on April 24. The vacancy is the result of the retirement of Judge Margret Robb. The following applicants will be interviewed in person. Their applications and other information about the vacancy can be found online.

Monday, April 24 (all times listed below are Eastern)

8:30 a.m.-9:15 a.m. – Executive Session to consider applications

9:15 a.m.-9:45 a.m. – Stephanie K. Bibbs

9:45 a.m.-10:15 a.m. – Hon. Timothy P. Spahr


10:30 a.m.-11:00 a.m. – Paul C. Sweeney

11:00 a.m.-11:30 a.m. – Hon. Paul A. Felix

11:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. – Carol N. Joven

Lunch and Executive Session to consider applications

1:30 p.m.-2:00 p.m. – Hon. Marc T. Rothenberg

2:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m. – Elizabeth C. Green


2:45 p.m.-3:15 p.m. – Andrew R. Falk

3:15 p.m.-3:45 p.m. – Justin P. Forkner

Deliberations in Executive Session, followed by public vote to select nominees

The interviews are open to the public and will be held in the Supreme Court Conference Room (State House 319) at 200 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204. Media interested in attending should contact Kathryn Dolan to inquire about reserving a seat.

Members of the audience are asked to refrain from activities that might distract from the interview process. The following guidelines are in place:

  • Only enter and exit between interviews
  • Recording equipment must be set up during breaks
  • Artificial lighting shall not be used
  • Questioning of the applicants is reserved for the Commission
  • Media/public may interview the applicants before/after Commission’s interview outside the interview room at the applicant’s discretion

Following the interviews, the Commission will meet in executive session and then publicly vote to select the three most highly qualified candidates. The Commission considers applicants’ legal education, writings, reputation in the practice of law, and other pertinent information. The three nominees will be submitted to Governor Eric Holcomb, who has 60 days from receiving the list to select Indiana’s next Court of Appeals judge.

According to the Indiana Constitution and state statute, the seven-member Judicial Nominating Commission must recruit and select candidates to fill vacancies on Indiana appellate courts. With Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush as chair, the Commission includes three lawyers elected by their peers and three citizen-members appointed by the Governor. Details on the Commission, including membership, are online.

The Supreme Court Office of Communication, Education & Outreach is issuing this press release on behalf of the Indiana Judicial Nominating Commission as notice of executive session and public interviews of candidates for the Court of Appeals of Indiana pursuant to IC 5-14-1.5-5, 5-14-1.5-6.1(b)(10), and IC 33-27-3-6. Pursuant to IC 33-27-3-6(e), application materials can be available for public inspection and copying.