Home | Contact Us | Facebook | Subscribe | Advertise
The Noblesville Times 24-7
  • 6/14/2018 Dear Editor, 

    I’ve been to the moon. I’ve been burned. But more often I’m honored. I’m your American flag.

    With 13 stars for colonies clamoring for freedom, I was first flown at Fort Stanwix in New York in 1777—and then carried into battle for the first time at Brandywine in Pennsylvania. By war’s end, I was saluted as the emblem of a sovereign nation, new and free. I’m your American flag.

    But challenges lay ahead. With 15 stars and 15 stripes, I survived shock and shell at Fort McHenry in 1814. With the aid of rockets’ red glare and bombs bursting in air, I was spied from afar at dawn’s early light by a patriot poet. I was then celebrated in sight and song by a fledgling nation. I’m your American flag.

    A half century later and with 33 stars and 13 stripes, I was saddened to see our nation divided. Our brothers’ blood was spilled in battle north and south. But by war’s end, Lincoln’s iconic words at Gettysburg prevailed—a unique nation conceived in liberty and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal. But that pledge was yet to be fully fulfilled.
  • 6/11/2018 

    Dear Editor,

    At 9:06 a.m. on May 25, an armed student entered my son’s classroom in Noblesville and opened fire.

    Amazingly, there were no fatalities.

    However, another student and my son were struck numerous times. Thankfully, both are recovering, but the injured student will have an extended hospital stay. Since that surreal day, there have been so many acts of kindness and so many notes of encouragement and prayers that I couldn’t possibly begin to thank everyone personally.

    Please accept the following thanks and know that every act, every word and every prayer has been deeply appreciated.

  • 5/18/2018 Dear Editor, 

    In the early 2000s, leaders in state government determined that the Indiana Department of Environmental Management should team with businesses to help protect valuable resources. A partnership – instead of strictly a punitive approach – has been successful.

    That is a lesson still being learned in Washington. Although regulatory efforts under the current administration are taking a more thoughtful tactic, one Indiana company is suffering from the actions of the prior regime at the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB).

    Navient, which services 12 million student loan customers, is based in Fishers with additional operations in Muncie. The company was sued by CFPB two days before President Obama left office. Richard Cordray had spent four years investigating Navient, citing it for “systematically and illegally failing borrowers.”

    No evidence to substantiate the claims exists. The company produced 450,000 pages of documents, hundreds of hours of phone recording and more than 30 written reports before charges were filed. 
  • 5/15/2018 Dear Editor, 

    For 15 years, I have been asking for the cooperation of our Noblesville City government to help alleviate the problem of speeding traffic on Hannibal Street between 10th and 19th streets. I have spoken to the city council, two police chiefs, two mayors, the captain of the patrol division and anyone who would listen. So far nobody has listened. I have received nothing but lip service from those we have entrusted with keeping our families and community safe. 

    I have spoken with almost all of my neighbors in the second ward area and many agree that this is a real problem. By the time drivers travel from 10th to 11th streets they are often exceeding the posted speed limit. When they come from the east, they will often be traveling 10 to 15 mph more than the posted 25 mph speed limit. 

    This is a residential neighborhood with many young children in the area. 

    The worst part is drivers are often traveling 35 or even 40 mph past the playground at Seminary Park and the mail trucks are consistently the worst offenders.
  • 5/6/2018 Dear Editor, 

    As we embark on the last week of this election, we wanted to share some things about our dad, Mitch Russell, with all of you. Our dad is hands down the best dad and Pappy anyone could ask for. 

    Our whole lives our parents have always been there for us no matter what the situation. They have loved us unconditionally, kept us on the right path and they inspire us to just be good people. As much as our dad has done for us, he has never been just our dad. He has always been the community’s dad. 

    Our parents took in anyone that needed a place to call home, even if it was just a few hours, and loved them just as they loved us. Our parents cooked them meals, coached them, gave them life advice and more importantly just let them know they were loved and what kind of person they could become.
  • 5/1/2018 Dear Editor, 

    And voters of Hamilton County,

    If you weren’t compelled to vote on May 8, please read further:

    Hamilton County government is plagued by a gang of “ good ol’ boy” politicians who are willing to do or say nearly anything to stay in power. They choose their members, teach newcomers their devious methods, and contribute thousands of campaign dollars to protect and preserve fellow gang members.

    One example is District 3 County Council member, Steve Schwartz. Since April, his true identity as one of the gang has been revealed. A close acquaintance of mine, working directly with the Hamilton County Commissioners, warned me that they’d be trying to protect Schwartz’ spot on the council and that Schwartz would likely masquerade as a “Save the Train” supporter.
  • 5/1/2018 
    Dear Editor, 

    The 2018 Miller Ambassador class would like to express our sincere thanks to Noblesville Schools’ administration, staff and students. We experienced a year of engaging, inspiring and empowered learning and immersion into a broader understanding of Noblesville Schools. 

    We join the 2017 class as ambassadors and are prepared to speak about the tremendous work done by Noblesville Schools to develop, care for and educate students and staff.

    Leading Noblesville Schools is no small feat. We had known it was a massive job before we started our dive into understanding exactly what that entails for our school administration. It became very apparent as month by month we learned more about the different elements of organizational delegation, capacity and capabilities required of Noblesville’s largest employer. It all starts at the top, so we applaud School Superintendent Beth Niedermeyer for her leadership style and follow through. 
  • 5/1/2018 

    Dear Editor,

    My name is Alex Petty and on May 8 the registered voters in Hamilton County will have their opportunity to vote for the clear choice for Hamilton County Sheriff. Dennis Quakenbush has my full support and endorsement.

    I have known Dennis for 16 years and have worked right next to him. Dennis has all the qualities and qualifications for the office of Sheriff. His level of commitment is second to none. He is one of the most intelligent and hardworking cops I have ever known. Dennis is highly educated with an MBA in business management and is well qualified to manage the budget of the Sheriff’s Office. This budget is derived from your tax dollars.

    Above all, Dennis is committed to the service of the residents of Hamilton County. Dennis has a good working relationship with the Hamilton County Commissioners, Council and the Prosecutor’s. These strong relationships allow him to better serve this community. Dennis is married and has four boys — he is a man of faith — and a lifelong resident of Hamilton County.

  • 5/1/2018 

    Dear Editor,

    Decisions made in Indianapolis by lawmakers have a direct impact on our life. There is no one I trust more to make the right policy choices for my daughter and me than Chuck Goodrich.

    I have known Chuck for close to 10 years as a friend and brother in Christ at White River Christian Church. Chuck is a dedicated, trustworthy and hardworking man. He is a doer. If something needs to be done, he does it without thinking twice.

    I learned this first-hand after my husband passed away unexpectedly in the midst of a major home remodel last year. My beautiful daughter, Megan, is autistic and had an especially difficult time processing her father’s death. Chuck was there for Megan as she went through the grieving process in her own, unique way. Chuck and Megan also share a birthday; he sends her flowers every year.

  • 4/27/2018 Dear Editor, 

    And residents of Hamilton County,

    My husband, Craig, and I have lived in Noblesville for 18 years. We are raising our family here and are business owners. We are proud that our kids have been able to attend an outstanding school system, grow up in a continually safe community and experience the positive growth of our County. 

    Greg O’Connor, who is running for Indiana State Representative in District #29, is who our family supports and endorses. Greg is a hard worker, a kind person and has strong values. He has served 10 years on Noblesville City Council, he has brought jobs here, increased quality of life and helped keep a balanced budget. In summary, he is committed to ensuring Noblesville continues to thrive and prosper.
Looking for something older? Try our archive search

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Site Search

GO


Our app is now available!

     
    



© 2018 The Times
a division of Sagamore News Media
920 S. Logan St, Suite 101 Noblesville, IN 46060

(317) 770-7777

life

Software © 1998-2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved