Home | Contact Us | Facebook | Subscribe | Advertise
The Noblesville Times 24-7
  • 12/8/2018 Dear Editor,
    As Christmas approaches, this time of year should be a lot more than twinkling lights, mistletoe and presents wrapped up in pretty bows. This time of year causes some of us to sit back and reflect upon what is really important in this life. Everyone has a different opinion about what the most important thing in life is. For myself and many caregivers, it is time, and the gift of time with those we love.
    My husband and I were married on March 9th of this year, shortly after we learned that he had a benign brain tumor. On March 12th the doctor’s removed most of the tumor but found that it was indeed malignant. Our lives and the lives of those close to us changed immediately. My husband and I began concentrating not only on what we could do to extend the quantity of his life but the quality of his life was of up most importance.
  • Letter to the Editor - Arrowoods Love Noblesville
    12/7/2018 Dear Editor,
    Been working with Joe Arrowood for quite a few years now, and cannot think of a more dedicated individual to Noblesville than Joe. The Santa Sleigh (pictured), which is displayed next to Santa’s House, is put up each year by Joe and his elf helpers on the court house square. That includes his wife, Jo Ellen. It’s put up for the season and all the local kids. They put up, take down, store, and repair the sleigh display every year.
    This is a family that loves our city, and gives a lot of hours every year to the city’s events. I have worked with Joe many years in the Kiwanis and Lions Clubs. I can’t think of anyone more dedicated to a city, and kids causes than Joe and Jo Ellen Arrowood. Merry Christmas and Thanks to a loving family!
    -Jake Doll, Noblesville
  • 11/30/2018 Dear Editor,
    I’m a resident of Noblesville and I’m feeling so proud of our community tonight. We just returned from the Colts versus Dolphins Game, with a Colts victory! Also tonight, our Noblesville West Middle School West Side Sound performed the National Anthem to kick off the game. As a parent of one of the performers, I couldn’t help but feel many emotions but I couldn’t wait to hear from my daughter about her feelings of the experience.  
    “The Colts Staff were very welcoming, encouraging and fed us lunch,” she said. My daughter continued to say, “singing our country’s National Anthem in front of thousands of people, was such an honor and something I’ll never forget. We represented our show choir, school and community. Ella Whistler also performed with the Colts Cheerleaders, which was so great to see her doing so well and having fun!”
  • 11/9/2018 The tragedy in Rochester is unimaginable – three siblings dead and another seriously injured.  These aren’t the only victims – their families, the bus driver and student witnesses, their schoolmates and teachers.  The ripple effects touch everyone.  
    While all fingers point to the truck’s driver, a major culprit goes unrecognized – Indiana’s morning darkness.  Sunrise on Oct. 30 was 8:15.  The children were struck at 7:15.  If Indiana was in its correct Central Time Zone it would have been light outside and the children would have been visible. 
    The solar divide between the Eastern and Central time zones runs 25 miles east of Columbus, Ohio.  In mid-1960’s Indiana’s time zone was re-designated from Central to Eastern but it was the adoption of Eastern Daylight Time in 2006 that caused the major shift in our sunlight schedule forcing children all over Indiana to travel to school in the dark. Students have been robbed, injured and killed by vehicles, and raped in morning darkness.
  • 11/5/2018 Dear Editor,
    We have had three children in Noblesville schools since 2011. During this time, we have been consistently impressed with the quality of people involved with their education. From administrators to teachers, we have experienced a talented group of educators who continue to impress us every day. Individuals like Beth Niedermeyer, Jeff Bryant, Stacey Swan, Pat Haney, Kristie Cassidy, Peggy Wood, Jason Seaman, Katelyn Koons, Alex Axsom and Stacey White are as dedicated, compassionate, and intelligent as they come. We should never take any of them for granted. There are dozens and dozens more, and they all deserve to teach and work in a safe environment, as our students deserve to learn in a safe environment.
  • 11/5/2018 Dear Editor,
    On November 6, 2018, the owners of Noble Industries plan to VOTE YES to the Noblesville Schools 2018 Operating Referendum Question.  
    Noble Industries has been in business since 1970 and typically we are ALWAYS for lower taxes. Lower business taxes help us create new jobs and continue to invest in new equipment and operational efficiencies. However without successful schools, the workforce suffers. 
    Paying teachers a competitive wage that matches or surpasses other school districts in the state and providing for the safety and security of our children are two areas in which we believe must be supported. We will trust that Superintendent, Dr. Beth Niedermeyer, the staff and School Board will act prudently and be frugal with the additional tax resources they are given.
  • 11/5/2018 Dear Editor,
    With November 6th just around the corner, I wanted to take a moment to say why I’m voting in support of Miller Yes.  
    Our Noblesville students/children deserve the brightest and most creative professionals our educational institutions have to offer. With neighboring districts in Hamilton County paying teachers $5,000-$15,000 more per year, I’m not surprised to see a teacher shortage in the past two years in our district.
    Our teachers work tirelessly each day; concerned with appropriate grade curriculum, teaching lessons, making sure students aren’t falling behind in their coursework, classmate/friend disputes, etc.
  • 11/3/2018 Dear Editor,
    The Noblesville Teachers’ Forum, the professional association for all teachers in Noblesville Schools, has released its recommended candidates for the 2018 Noblesville School Board Election: Dr. Joe Fogey, Jeff Bragg, and David Leyda.
    Voters will choose candidates to fill two open At Large seats. These decisions were made after a committee of Noblesville teachers completed a thorough vetting process, which included a review of completed questionnaires, personal interviews with candidates, and attendance at the public candidate forum. The Noblesville Teachers’ Forum is confident that these candidates will best serve the students, staff, and entire Noblesville Schools community. Please consider supporting these candidates on November 6th.
    -Amanda Giordano, President, Noblesville Teachers’ Forum
  • 10/31/2018 Dear Noblesville residents,
    My family and I moved to Noblesville about 8 years ago. Our top criteria for selecting an area and house was good schools. We selected Noblesville because of the schools, but the sense of community was an added benefit.
    In the past 8 years, Noblesville has proven itself to be a wonderful and close-knit community. After the shooting at NWMS, Noblesville once again came together to take care of one other. I was so proud of how everyone from the teachers, staff, students, parents, and community handled themselves with such class and dignity. I am proud to call Noblesville our home and proud that all 3 of our children have been educated by Noblesville schools.
  • 10/31/2018 Dear Editor,
    No matter who earns the most votes on November 6, bipartisanship must be embraced. Compromise must not be viewed as a sign of weakness. Confrontation must give way to cooperation.
    Honest differences of opinion always will, and should, exist. Yet dismissing someone’s viewpoint mainly by the R or D next to their name is shortsighted.
    There are no simple answers. But listening – truly paying attention – to those with views that may not align with yours is imperative. That tactic is one that many in our country would benefit from. It is unfortunately not happening nearly enough.
Looking for something older? Try our archive search

Monday, December 10, 2018

Site Search

GO


Our app is now available!

     
    



© 2018 The Times
a division of Sagamore News Media
920 S. Logan St, Suite 101 Noblesville, IN 46060

(317) 770-7777

life

Software © 1998-2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved