Home | Contact Us | Facebook | Subscribe | Advertise
The Noblesville Times 24-7
  • 7/17/2018 

    Dear Editor, 

    And to the people of Noblesville, Fishers, towns of Hamilton County, Tipton, Tipton County, Indianapolis, Marion County and the people of Indiana:

    The board and volunteers of the Indiana Transportation Museum would like to express our deepest gratitude to all of you for your support, including our last day at Forest Park in Noblesville. 

    For more than 52 years the museum has been a part of Forest Park. With our train rides, we gave classes on the history of Indiana rail transportation to school children in Noblesville and neighboring communities.

    Our volunteers also learned with our community. Many adult and young teenage volunteers learned about working on our historic rail equipment keeping it all running safely. We are proud of all our volunteers who learned at ITM, then went on to became new railroaders for Norfolk Southern, CSX and Burlington Northern railroads. 

  • 7/17/2018 Dear Editor, 

    and dear House Speaker Brian Bosma (R-Indianapolis): 

    The Hoosier State Press Association thanks you for supporting S.E.A. 392. The bill signed into law on March 21, by Gov. Eric Holcomb contains language that guarantees Hoosiers can obtain electronic records (such as Word documents, Excel spreadsheets, or Adobe pdfs) in that format from state and local government units. The records can be emailed to the requester with no copying fee involved.

    Under the existing Access to Public Records Act, a public official could decide to only provide a printed copy of such a record and require the requester to come to the agency office and pay a copying fee for the record.

    The language giving the public the right to electronic copies is language you helped develop with HSPA in previous legislative sessions.
  • 7/11/2018 

    Dear Editor,

    “Nearly all men can stand adversity but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.”
    -Abraham Lincoln

    This quote comes to mind as I watch the drama unfold between the Indiana Transportation Museum (ITM) and the City of Noblesville. We are in the final stages of ITM’s eviction from Forest Park and I’d like to make a couple of comments on the way this episode has been handled.

    This is a real David and Goliath story. However, unlike in the Bible, Goliath will end up winning this battle despite David’s efforts. The City has always held all the cards. It is the landlord, it has seats on the Hoosier Heritage Port Authority, which owns the tracks, and it has the deep pockets and formidable firepower of a taxing authority. The ITM is a non-profit that depends on donations and train fares to pay its bills and is run by volunteers.

    Still, it managed to successfully operate trains in Hamilton County for decades.

  • 7/10/2018 

    Dear Editor,

    (The Times columnist) Ginger Claremohr's recent article (titled "Exploring my thoughts on immigrant parents, children") described strong emotions that virtually every parent would experience, if their children were in difficult situations.

    We must be cautious and not let emotions alone, determine our position on extremely large and multifaceted situations. We need to gather all the information possible, before forming an opinion, on such complicated problems, that affect many areas of our lives,for years to come. 

  • 7/10/2018 

    Dear Editor, 

    and dear Sen. Mike Delph:

    The Hoosier State Press Association thanks you for reaching out to us to work on legislation that would clarify what information should be available when a public employee’s discipline results in their suspension, demotion, or termination.

    Your S.B. 101 would have restored the amount of information to be disclosed to the public upon request as intended by the 2003 General Assembly and moving forward require any agency to document the reason for the discipline and event that was deemed to violate policy, procedure, or rule.

    The bill failed to advance after failing to get a hearing in the Senate Local Government Committee, chaired by Sen. Jim Buck, R-Kokomo, who raised a concern over the impact language would have on previous disciplinary actions that were undocumented.

  • 6/29/2018 

    Dear Editor, 

    With the Fourth of July rapidly approaching, Phantom Fireworks would like to remind our friends and customers that some pets adversely react to the lights and noise of fireworks. With a little extra effort, our pets can be spared the trauma they sometimes experience from fireworks.

    Phantom Fireworks asks that you please be mindful of the following:

    Keep your pets indoors during fireworks displays.

    Turn on the TV or radio and air-conditioning to help mask the noise of the fireworks.  Keep pets in a soothing, dark room with light jazz or classical music playing. The idea is to muffle the fireworks noise with something soothing. Close draperies to help soundproof the residence.

  • 6/29/2018 

    Dear Editor, 

    And The Times of Noblesville columnist Ginger Claremohr, 

    Thank you for your well written, thoughtful, honest and often poignant articles. Your words have caused me to laugh, cry, and reconsider some long-held opinions. In the midst of our noisy chaotic world it’s so refreshing to read something beautiful and know that there are still good people – like you! – out there. I hope you never stop sharing your thoughts with us. 

  • 6/20/2018 Dear Editor, 

    Why do our young, male students want to harm their classmates?

    In every school shooting, it has been a young, white male who wants to harm his classmates. This is where the problem begins and we should be asking why. What is going on in the heads of these shooters that brings them to carry a gun or guns to school with the intention of harming other students and teachers?

    Are they being bullied and excluded by other students? Are they being overlooked by the teachers while in the classroom? Do they associate with other students who have the tendency of wanting to harm other students for whatever reason? What is their home life like? Do they come from a dysfunctional family or are growing up in a one parent family? 
  • 6/14/2018 Dear Editor, 

    I’ve been to the moon. I’ve been burned. But more often I’m honored. I’m your American flag.

    With 13 stars for colonies clamoring for freedom, I was first flown at Fort Stanwix in New York in 1777—and then carried into battle for the first time at Brandywine in Pennsylvania. By war’s end, I was saluted as the emblem of a sovereign nation, new and free. I’m your American flag.

    But challenges lay ahead. With 15 stars and 15 stripes, I survived shock and shell at Fort McHenry in 1814. With the aid of rockets’ red glare and bombs bursting in air, I was spied from afar at dawn’s early light by a patriot poet. I was then celebrated in sight and song by a fledgling nation. I’m your American flag.

    A half century later and with 33 stars and 13 stripes, I was saddened to see our nation divided. Our brothers’ blood was spilled in battle north and south. But by war’s end, Lincoln’s iconic words at Gettysburg prevailed—a unique nation conceived in liberty and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal. But that pledge was yet to be fully fulfilled.
  • 6/11/2018 

    Dear Editor,

    At 9:06 a.m. on May 25, an armed student entered my son’s classroom in Noblesville and opened fire.

    Amazingly, there were no fatalities.

    However, another student and my son were struck numerous times. Thankfully, both are recovering, but the injured student will have an extended hospital stay. Since that surreal day, there have been so many acts of kindness and so many notes of encouragement and prayers that I couldn’t possibly begin to thank everyone personally.

    Please accept the following thanks and know that every act, every word and every prayer has been deeply appreciated.

Looking for something older? Try our archive search

Friday, July 20, 2018

Site Search

GO


Our app is now available!

     
    



© 2018 The Times
a division of Sagamore News Media
920 S. Logan St, Suite 101 Noblesville, IN 46060

(317) 770-7777

life

Software © 1998-2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved